5 true facts that will make you feel better about yourself

I’m not saying I am this perfect person who always believes all of these facts, but on my good days I realise they are true. That’s the problem with depression. I don’t have many good days so most of the time I don’t believe anything good about myself. However, today I am more stable so I can write this post.

Fact number 1: EVERYBODY HAS BAD DAYS:

Don’t believe me?? Look, sometimes I  barely believe it myself, as people are always sending me photos and videos of themselves going to parties and wearing super expensive fashionable clothes, and generally looking like they are having a PERFECT life. I then take a look at myself, lying in bed a lot, not going to school, not even being able to go out sometimes. It makes me feel terrible – like everyone else is having a great life except me!! But today someone said something to me which really made me think. She said that people only show others the good things going on in their lives, and not the bad things. It made me think “Well, I’d never know about their bad moments, because they never post them online!” It still sucks to see photos of people having fun when I’m not, but at least I still know in the back of my mind that they probably have bad days. It’s not just you!!

Fact number 2: INNER BEAUTY IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN OUTER BEAUTY

This is still something that hasn’t completely sunk into me yet. I am often putting on makeup and stuff before I go out. Makeup is completely fine, and really fun, but it’s only unhealthy when I’m obsessing over it and crying if I think I look “ugly”. I think that quite a lot, but people tell me it isn’t true. One day my mum sent me this message. Take a look:

Heartwarming, right? Keep that message and know that you are beautiful no matter what. God bless your soul ❤️

Fact number 3: YOU ARE NOT A MISTAKE

Some people think that them being born was just a bad coincidence. But you were meant to be here. The world would be missing something like a jigsaw puzzle without a piece if you weren’t in it. Only yesturday I wished i’d never been born, so your not alone. Just know that it was all part of fates design. Everything happens for a reason. You were put on this earth a specific reason.

Fact number 4: EVERYONE IS USUALLY TOO WRAPPED UP IN THEIR OWN LIVES TO BE JUDGING YOU ALL THE TIME

I know this often feels untrue. I got severely bullied in my old secondary school. Physically and verbally. It got so bad to the point that the school were checking CCTV cameras. That’s when I left the school. But let me tell you something I’ve learned since I moved: People have their own struggles and problems, whether they are big or small, and are sometimes too wrapped up in them to be constantly staring, judging and thinking about you. There was once a time when I fell over and sprained my coccyx, and everyone was laughing at me. 10 minutes later, it wasn’t such a big deal because everyone had forgotten (because they were getting on with their own lives). It’s hard for us autistic people to imagine what it’s like forgetting something so quickly because smells, sounds and experiences stick in our minds. But for neurotypical people, it’s very different.

Fact number 5: EVERY GOOD DEED YOU DO IS WORTH A LOT

Don’t ever stop doing good things for other people. Whether it’s a charity fundraiser, baking someone a cake, looking after someone when they are ill, or getting a job that helps the community. Every good deed you do will help someone, even if they don’t realise it. Take binmen for example: they are amazing people – they get up at the crack of dawn and go round collecting everyone’s rubbish. People often forget they are doing it, but if they weren’t doing it there’d be rubbish everywhere!! Imagine!! What I’m saying is that good deeds make a difference.

Well, I hope that made you feel better. And remember everything in this post is true, I’m not just saying them for the sake of it.

Be back soon

Ems xx

Author:

Hiya I am Ems I hope you enjoy following me throughout this journey on my blog.

Leave a comment